L'AQUILA - ITALY
Regional Council of Abruzzo
The heritage building “Emiciclo”, also known as palace of the exposition, is now used as the headquarters of the Abruzzi Region. In 1888 the architect Carlo Waldis designed this unique building with a hexagonal-shaped portico with 12 doric columns. The aim of the project was to restore and strengthen the building which was severely damaged by the earthquake which struck the Abruzzi region on the 5th of April 2009. The seismic strengthening was achieved using viscous dampers and Steel Fiber Reinforced grout materials (SFRG).